German Open

Looking back on an eventful past

Tournament history

Tennis history since 1892

  • 1892 Germany’s first international tennis championships are held in Hamburg. Venue is the ground of the “Eisenbahnverein auf der Uhlenhorst“ (Uhlenhorst Railway Club). Initially, only German and Austrian players are entitled to take part.
  • 1894 The tournament is staged for the first time at the “Eisenbahnverein vor dem Dammtor“ (Dammtor Railway Club). Ensuing years see Uhlenhorst and Dammtor take turns, each hosting every other year.
  • 1897 The tournament opens up as truly international.
  • 1898 The International Tennis Championships of Germany are moved to Bad Homburg as a result of finance problems.
  • 1902 The tournament returns to Hamburg.
  • 1914 to 1919 The championships are not held: WorldWar 1.
  • 1924 The yearly change of venue between Dammtor and Uhlenhorst ends. From now on the tournament is staged exclusively at Hamburg Rothenbaum.
  • 1932 Gottfried von Cramm makes his first appearance on the roll of champions. Five more singles titles are added up to 1949.
  • 1940 to 1947 The Rothenbaum venue remains closed as a result of World War II and its consequences.
  • 1956 For the first time, the Center Court hosts a crowd of 5,000. By 1964 this increases to 8,000.
  • 1961 Rod Laver wins the Rothenbaum tournament. The Australian successfully defends his title the following year.
  • 1964 Wilhelm Bungert und Christian Juhnke face up in an all-German final. Bungert prevails after four sets.
  • 1969 For the first time, there is official prize money. The tournament becomes a 17,500-dollar event.
  • 1971 The Rothenbaum tournament attains Grand Prix status from the International Tennis Federation ITF, along with Wimbledon, Paris, Forest Hills and Rome.
  • 1972 The ATP players’ organization is founded.
  • 1980 The Rothenbaum venue is modernized and extended. The Center Court can now take 9,000 spectators. A further 1,000 are added in 1989.
  • 1990 Boris Becker reaches the Rothenbaum final for the first and only time. But he fails to produce the first tournament victory by a German for 26 years. Juan Aguilera wins to become champion for the second time after 1984.
  • 1993 Michael Stich becomes the last German so far to win the tournament. The previous year he loses the final to Stefan Edberg.
  • 1997 The new retractable roof goes into service after nearly two years’ construction work. Spectator capacity is increased to 13,200.
  • 2002 A Swiss makes the running. His name: Roger Federer. With a three-set win in the final over Marat Safin he achieves his biggest success to date on the ATP tour. He collects a further three Hamburg titles up to 2007.
  • 2006 The 100th edition of the Rothenbaum tournament is staged. Champion is Tommy Robredo.
  • 2008 French Open multiple winner Rafael Nadal finally achieves what eluded him in previous years: He wins the Rothenbaum championship with a three-set victory over Roger Federer, who defeated him in the previous year’s final.
  • 2009 Hamburg sports & entertainment GmbH takes over the staging of the tournament. Michael Stich becomes tournament Director. The Rothenbaum tournament, as an ATP World Tour 500 event, is one of the 20 biggest men’s tennis events worldwide.
  • 2012 For the first time in 19 years a German – Tommy Haas – reaches the final. The 34-year-old Hamburg player loses to Juan Monaco.
  • 2015 Rafael Nadal receives the trophy for the second time since 2008.
  • 2016 Martin Klizan triumphs at Rothenbaum in Hamburg.
  • 2017 for the first time, a lucky loser entered the long list of winners of the German Open. Leonardo Mayer defeated Florian Mayer in three highly contested sets in the final in front of 7,000 spectators and secured his second title after 2014. The Argentinean had recently moved into the peloton for the injured title-holder Martin Klizan after losing his second qualifying match.